Community Awards Recipients Honored at AMTC

Community Awards Recipients Honored at AMTC

7-Nov-2011 Source: AAMS

The Association of Air Medical Services (AAMS) is proud to announce its 2011 Community Awards recipients. Each year, these national awards are presented to individuals and organizations that exemplify the best of the air-medical and critical-care-ground transport community. This year’s recipients were honored at a special awards dinner on October 17, 2011 during the Air Medical Transport Conference (AMTC) held in St. Louis, Mo.

The 2011 Community Award categories, each award recipient and award sponsors include:

2011 Program of the Year Award, sponsored by American Eurocopter – LIFE STAR/Hartford Hospital in Hartford, CT – for the program’s superior level of patient care, management prowess, quality leadership through visionary and innovative approaches, customer services, safety consciousness, marketing ingenuity, community services, and commitment to the national or international medical transport community. Founded in 1985, the LIFE STAR Program at Hartford Hospital delivers dynamic, innovative, transparent and cooperative approaches to creating an environment where safe transport and cutting edge clinical patient care is the standard.

2011 Marriott-Carlson Leadership Award, sponsored by Bell Helicopter, A Textron Company – Sandra Kinkade Hutton, RN, MSN, MBA from Kinkade International in Solana Beach, CA – for her outstanding contributions to the emergency medical transport community through active involvement or participation in an air-medical transport organization. Sandy Kinkade Hutton has been a stalwart contributor to the air medical community for over two decades.

2011 Barbara A. Hess Research & Education Award, sponsored by Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation – Russell MacDonald, MD, MPH, FRCPC from ORNGE Transport Medicine in Mississauga, Ontario – for his outstanding contributions in research and education. Dr. MacDonald’s determination to advance the field through education and research has set him apart from the rest.

2011 Jim Charlson Aviation Safety Award, sponsored by American Eurocopter – Kent Johnson from Intermountain Life Flight, Salt Lake City, UT – for his significant contributions to the overall enhancement, development, or promotion of aviation and aviation safety within the air-medical transport community. Kent Johnson has showed unparalleled dedication to aviation safety and innovation since starting his career in 1978.

2011 Transport Mechanic’s Award of Excellence, sponsored by AgustaWestland – Ed Haslow from Metro Life Flight in Cleveland, OH – for his significant contributions to the safe operation and maintenance of medical transport vehicles. Ed Haslow in his 36 year career has become the example of a great mechanic, one who is able to adjust to unexpected curve-balls and to shift strategies.

2011 Fixed-Wing Award of Excellence, sponsored by LifePort, Inc., A Sikorsky Aerospace Services Company – AeroCare Medical Transport in Sugar Grove, IL – for the program’s excellence in patient care and safety in fixed-wing transport. Over the past 17 years, AeroCare has evolved into a CAMTS accredited program with over 100 employees, six medically equip. aircrafts, and bases in Illinois, Arizona, and Florida. AeroCare approaches each mission using innovative safety techniques.

2011 Critical Care Ground Award of Excellence, sponsored by Sponsored by American Emergency Vehicles and Northwestern Emergency Vehicles – Sunstar Paramedics Critical Care Transport in Largo, FL – for the program’s outstanding contributions in patient care and safety in the critical-care ground medical transport community. Sunstar Paramedics Critical Care Transport Team, a remarkable program in its 19th year of operation, was developed to take on the Critical Care Transport needs for Florida’s 1 million citizens in Pinellas County.

2011 Neonatal & Pediatric Transport Award of Excellence, sponsored by Airborne Life Support Systems – Nationwide Children’s Hospital Transport Team in Columbus, OH – for the program’s significant contributions in the promotion of neonatal/pediatric patient care, education, research, and safety. The transport team at Nationwide Children’s Hospital strives to achieve excellence in the transport care of critically ill and injured children.

About AMTC
The Air Medical Transport Conference is a one-stop shop for access to representatives from myriad key aviation and health-care-related organizations. In addition to AAMS, other organizers include the Air & Surface Transport Nurses Association, the Air Medical Physician Association, the International Association of Critical Care & Flight Paramedics, the National Association of Air Medical Communication Specialists, and the National EMS Pilots Association.

About AAMS
The Association of Air Medical Services (AAMS) is the only international trade association serving the entire air and ground medical transport community. AAMS strives to enhance the medical transport industry by promoting the highest level of industry safety; promoting quality patient care; inspiring commitment to the industry’s work, causes, and viability; and providing superior service to its members.

, , , , ,

Copyright © 2022 HeliHub

Website by Design Inc

Helihub logo