Unmanned K-Max is nominee for Collier Trophy

Unmanned K-Max is nominee for Collier Trophy 11 Feb, 13, Source: National Aeronautic Association

The National Aeronautic Association (NAA) today announced that seven aviation and aerospace projects will compete for the prestigious 2012 Robert J. Collier Trophy.

The Collier Trophy, the “Greatest Award in Aviation,” has been the benchmark of aviation and aerospace achievement for over 100 years.  Awarded annually “….for the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America,” it has been bestowed upon some of the most important projects, programs, individuals, and accomplishments in our nation’s history. Past winners include the crews of Apollo 11 and Apollo 8, the Mercury 7, Scott Crossfield, Elmer Sperry and Howard Hughes. Projects and programs which have been the recipient of the Collier include the B-52, the Polaris Missile, the Surveyor Moon Landing Program, the Boeing 747, the Cessna Citation, the Gulfstream V, the F-22, and the International Space Station.  The 2011 Collier was awarded to the Boeing Company for the 787 Dreamliner.

The nominees are:

• The Lockheed Martin Cargo Unmanned Aerial System

• The NASA/JPL Dawn Project Team

• The Gulfstream G650

• The United States Air Force MC-12 Project Liberty Team

• The NASA/JPL Mars Science Laboratory/Curiosity Project Team

• Felix Baumgartner and the Red Bull Stratos Team

• The NASA/JPL Voyager Interstellar Mission Project Team

Led by NAA Chairman Walter J. Boyne, the Selection Committee will consist of leaders representing organizations throughout aviation and aerospace.  Included on the Committee are three former recipients of the Collier Trophy:

Bryan Allen (Gossamer Albatross – 1979)
John Tracy (Boeing 787 – 2011)
Admiral Richard Truly, USN, Ret. (1988)

The entire Selection Committee consists of:

Richard Aboulafia, Teal Group
Bryan Allen, Former Collier Recipient (Gossamer Albatross – 1979)
Chris Benich, Honeywell
Laurie Bertenthal, Rockwell Collins
The Honorable Marion Blakey, Aerospace Industries Association
Bob Blouin, Hawker Beechcraft
Ed Bolen, National Business Aviation Association
Bob Brown, Academy of Model Aeronautics
Steve Callaghan, NAA Awards and Events Committee
Sandra Clifford, Aero Club of Northern California
David Coleal, Spirit AeroSystems
John Cotton, DRS Technologies
Jack Dailey, Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum
Dave Franson, Wichita Aero Club
Bill Garvey, Business and Commercial Aviation
Rich Hass, United States Hang Gliding and Paragliding Association
Tom Hendricks, National Air Transportation Association
TC Jones, Northrop Grumman Corporation
Tim Keating, The Boeing Company
Leo Knaapen, Bombardier Aerospace
Dick Koenig, Flying Magazine
John Langford, Aurora Flight Sciences
Joe Lombardo, General Dynamics Aerospace Group
Sandy Magnus, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Dave Manke, United Technologies/Pratt & Whitney
Mary Miller, Signature Flight Support
Stan O’Connor, GE Aviation
Henry Ogrodzinski, National Association of State Aviation Officials
Ken Panos, Aerojet
Steve Plummer, Rolls-Royce North America
Skip Ringo, The Ringo Group
Bob Rubino, Lockheed Martin Corporation
Bob Stangarone, Embraer
John Tracy, Former Collier Recipient (Boeing 787 – 2011)
Admiral Richard Truly, USN, Ret., Former Collier Recipient (1988)
Mark Van Tine, Jeppesen

Jonathan Gaffney, President and CEO of NAA, will serve as the Director of the process and is a non-voting member of the Committee. The Selection Committee will meet on Monday, March 11, in Arlington, Virginia, and the winner will be announced the next day, March 12, at the NAA Spring Awards Luncheon to be held at the Crystal Gateway Marriott.

The formal presentation of the Collier Trophy will take place on May 9, 2013, at the Collier Dinner in Arlington, Virginia.

Related Posts