FAA Announces UAS Registration Task Force Members

FAA  Announces UAS Registration Task Force Members 29 Oct, 15, Source: FAA

Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Administrator Michael Huerta today announced the membership of the Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) Registration Task Force. Earl Lawrence, Director of the FAA’s UAS Integration Office, and Dave Vos of Google X will co-chair the group.

Department of Transportation (DOT) Secretary Anthony Foxx and Administrator Huerta announced the formation of the Task Force last week. The Task Force membership represents a range of stakeholder viewpoints, interests and knowledge of the objectives and scope. Task Force membership was by invitation only and participation is voluntary.

Interested parties who are not members of the Task Force may submit comments to thepublic docket. The Federal Register notice is available for viewing here.

Sec. Foxx set a deadline of Nov. 20 for the Task Force to complete its recommendations and work is already underway. The group will meet formally from Nov. 3-5 before developing recommendations on a streamlined registration process and minimum requirements on which unmanned aircraft should be registered. Given the urgency of this issue, the DOT and FAA will move expeditiously to consider the Task Force’s recommendations.

Task Force Members include:

  • Nancy Egan  3D Robotics
  • Richard Hanson  Academy of Model Aeronautics
  • George Novak  Aerospace Industries Association
  • Chuck Hogeman and Randy Kenagy  Air Line Pilots Association
  • Jim Coon  Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association
  • Sean Cassidy  Amazon Prime Air
  • Ben Gielow– Amazon Retail
  • Justin Towles  American Association of Airport Executives
  • Brian Wynne  Association of Unmanned Vehicle Systems International
  • Parker Brugge  Best Buy
  • Douglas Johnson  Consumer Electronics Association
  • Brendan Schulman  DJI
  • Paul Feldman  General Aviation Manufacturers Association
  • Dave Vos  GoogleX (Co-Chair)
  • Tony Bates  GoPro
  • Matt Zuccaro  Helicopter Association International
  • Mike Fergus  International Association of Chiefs of Police
  • John Perry  Management Association for Private Photogrammetric Surveyors
  • Brandon Declet  Measure
  • Randall Burdett  National Association of State Aviation Officials
  • Sarah Wolf  National Business Aviation Association
  • Baptiste Tripard  Parrot
  • Tyler Collins  PrecisionHawk
  • Gregory McNeal  Small UAV Coalition
  • Thomas Head  Walmart

Along with the FAA and DOT, the following federal agencies will provide expert support to the Task Force: Department of Commerce, Department of Defense, Department of Homeland Security, Department of the Interior, Office of Management and Budget, National Aeronautics and Space Administration and the Department of State.

Related Posts