AHS congratulates 2016 Award Recipients

AHS congratulates 2016 Award Recipients

18-Mar-2016 Source: AHS

AHS International — The Vertical Flight Technical Society — has announced the 2016 recipients of its prestigious awards program, which has, since its establishment in 1944, paid tribute to the outstanding leaders of vertical flight and served as a catalyst for stimulating technological advances. This year’s winners will be recognized at the Grand Awards Banquet on Wednesday, May 18, 2016, during AHS International’s 72nd Annual Forum and Technology Display in West Palm Beach, Florida, USA.

“The vertical flight technical community produces incredible advances every single day,” said AHS Executive Director Mike Hirschberg. “The AHS International Awards Program recognizes the most significant accomplishments around the world, whether by engineers and scientists developing new technologies, innovative companies or pilots using vertical flight aircraft to save lives or demonstrate new capabilities. Those being recognized this year are truly remarkable.”

Full details on this year’s award winners are available at www.vtol.org/news/2016-AHS-Awards-Recipients.

The AgustaWestland International Fellowship Award
This award recognizes significant contributions to the extension of fellowship and accomplishment in the international rotorcraft arena:

  • UK SAR Team: Bristow Helicopters, Sikorsky, AgustaWestland, et al.

The François-Xavier Bagnoud Award
The Bagnoud Award recognizes an individual for outstanding career-to-date contribution to vertical flight technology by a member under the age of 35:

  • Dr. Moble Benedict, Assistant Professor, Texas A&M

The Grover E. Bell Award
The Bell Award is given for an outstanding research and experimentation contribution to the field of vertical flight development brought to fruition during the preceding calendar year:

  • S-97 Raider First Flight, Sikorsky

The Frederick L. Feinberg Award
This award is presented to the vertical flight aircraft pilot or crew who demonstrated outstanding skills or achievement during the preceding calendar year:

  • Mr. Troy Caudill, Bell 525 Chief Experimental Test Pilot

The Paul E. Haueter Award
The Haueter Award is presented for an outstanding technical innovation in the development of a vertical take-off and landing aircraft other than a helicopter or operational vertical flight aircraft:

  • Mike Nyalko, USMC, Col (Ret.)

Honorary Fellowships
AHS Honorary Fellowships are granted to Society members whose career-based leadership, vision or other meritorious contribution has advanced significantly the interests of the vertical flight community:

  • Dr. Arvind Kumar Sinha, Director of Engineering, Helicopter Systems Division, Capability Acquisition and Sustainment Group, Department of Defence, Australia.
  • Mr. Steve Weiner, Chief Engineer for the Sikorsky-Boeing Joint Multi-Role Rotorcraft (JMR) and Chief Engineer of Innovations at Sikorsky, a Lockheed Martin Company

The Howard Hughes Award
The Hugehs Award is given in recognition of an outstanding improvement in fundamental vertical flight technology brought to fruition during the preceding calendar year:

  • Multi-Role Rotor–Adaptive Performance Team: Boeing, Army AATD

The Harry T. Jensen Award
The Jensen Award is given in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the improvement of rotorcraft reliability, maintainability, or safety through improved design brought to fruition during the preceding year:

  • The Sikorsky S-92 which has, in the first one million hours of operation, logged a safety record approaching commercial fixed-wing airline services

The Dr. Alexander Klemin Award
This award is given for notable achievement in advancing the field of vertical flight aeronautics:

  • Dr. William Warmbrodt, Chief of the Aeromechanics Branch at the NASA Ames Research Center

The CAPT William J. Kossler, USCG Award
The Kossler Award is given for the greatest achievement during the preceding year related to the operation or application of a vertical flight aircraft:

  • US Coast Guard Crew of CG6027 for their heroic rescue during Hurricane Joaquin on Oct. 1, 2015

The Robert L. Pinckney Award
The Pinckney Award is given in recognition of notable achievement in manufacturing research and development for rotorcraft or rotorcraft components brought to fruition in recent years:

  • V-280 Wing Development Team: Bell Helicopter, Kaman Composite Structures, KUKA Systems, Leading Edge Aerospace, Army AATD

The John J. Schneider Historical Achievement Award
This award is given in recognition of distinguished achievement of an individual in encouraging appreciation of, and enhancing access to the history and legacy of vertical flight aircraft:

  • Dr. Bruce H. Charnov, Professor Emeritus, Hofstra University

The Supplier Excellence Award
This award is given to a supplier who, through the quality, innovativeness and cost-effective technology of its products, has made a notable contribution to improving the state-of-the-art of vertical flight aircraft:

  • The Triumph Group

Technical Fellowships
AHS Technical Fellowships are granted to Society members whose career-based technical accomplishments significantly advance the interests of the vertical flight community:

  • Prof. Olivier A. Bauchau, Igor Sikorsky Professor of Rotorcraft, University of Maryland
  • Dr. Gloria K. Yamauchi, Aerospace Engineer, NASA
  • Mr. Daniel I. Newman, Senior Technical Fellow in Aircraft Configuration Development, The Boeing Company
  • Mr. Christopher L. Blanken, Lead, Vehicle Management and Control (VMC) Technical Area, US Army Aviation Development Directorate (ADD)-Aeroflightdynamics Directorate (AFDD)

Vertical Flight Heritage Sites
Vertical Flight Heritage Sites are named to recognize and preserve noteworthy and significant contributions made in both the theory and practice of helicopter and other vertical take-off and landing (VTOL) aircraft technology:

  • Leonardo da Vinci’s Studio, first known VTOL design (c. 1487) — Milan, Italy
  • Kingsley Flats, first VTOL flight in US (1908) — Hammondsport, New York, USA

AHS International previously announced in October 2015 that Mr. Tom L. Wood, Chief Technologist at Bell Helicopter was selected for the 2016 Alexander A. Nikolsky Honorary Lectureship; this award will also be presented at the AHS Annual Awards Banquet.

The American Helicopter Society (AHS) International is the world’s premier vertical flight technical society. Since its inception in 1943, AHS has been a major force in the advancement of vertical flight. It provides global leadership for scientific, technical, educational and legislative initiatives that advance the state of the art of vertical flight. Descriptions of each of the awards and past recipients are available on the Society’s website at www.vtol.org/awards.

, , ,

Copyright © 2023 HeliHub

Website by Design Inc

Helihub logo