Shortlist for Air Ambulance Awards announced

Shortlist for Air Ambulance Awards announced

25-Sep-2017 Source: Association of Air Ambulances

The shortlisted nominees for the 2017 Air Ambulance Awards of Excellence have been announced today. The winners will be revealed at the awards ceremony to be held on 13 November at the Millennium Chelsea Harbour Hotel, London.

The independent judging panel met and considered all entries made across the eleven categories. After lengthy deliberation and discussion, the panel was pleased to shortlist the following (shown in no particular order):

Outstanding Young Person Award:

Sponsor: Babcock MCS Onshore

  • Zac Augurde, East Anglian Air Ambulance
  • Josh Bright, Magpas
Charity Staff Member of the Year:

Sponsor: TBC

  • Nikki Bolt, Devon Air Ambulance Trust
  • Frank Chege, London’s Air Ambulance
Air Ambulance Paramedic of the Year:

Sponsor: BMW Government and Authorities Division

  • Rod Wells, East Anglian Air Ambulance
  • Adam Carr, Essex & Herts Air Ambulance Trust
  • Bill Leaning, London’s Air Ambulance
Air Ambulance Doctor of the Year:

Sponsor: Leonardo Helicopters

  • Tony Joy, London’s Air Ambulance
  • Syed Masud, Thames Valley Air Ambulance
Air Ambulance Pilot of the Year:

Sponsor: Safran UK

  • Neil Airey, North West Air Ambulance
  • John Stupart, Scotland’s Charity Air Ambulance
  • Grant Elgar, Wales Air Ambulance
Air Ambulance Campaign of the Year:

Sponsor: Lottery Fundraising Services

  • Dorset & Somerset Air Ambulance – Outreach
  • Midlands Air Ambulance Charity – Air25
  • Lincs & Notts Air Ambulance – Bigger Faster Greater
Charity Volunteer of the Year:

Sponsor: Tower Lotteries

  • Ann Squires, East Anglian Air Ambulance
  • Sue Akers, Essex & Herts Air Ambulance
  • Dianne Leggett, Essex & Herts Air Ambulance Trust
  • Jill & Don McLaren, Lincs & Notts Air Ambulance
Special Incident Award:

Sponsor: Airbus Helicopters

·         London’s Air Ambulance – London Bridge

·         Scotland’s Charity Air Ambulance – Forestry Worker

·         Wales Air Ambulance- Thoracotomy

Lifetime Achievement Award:                  

Sponsor: Specialist Aviation Services

·         Winner to be announced on 13 November.
Innovation of the Year:

Sponsor: Sloane Helicopters

·         East Anglian Air Ambulance – Travel Documents

·         Essex & Herts Air Ambulance Trust – Minds Matter

·         Hampshire & Isle of Wight Air Ambulance – Simulation Suite

Air Operations Support Staff Member of the Year:

Sponsor: Allianz

  • Tim Brook, East Anglian Air Ambulance
  • John Power, London’s Air Ambulance
  • Huw Joyce, Lincs & Notts Air Ambulane





































Jim Fitzpatrick MP, Chair of the Judging Panel, commented: “It’s easy to run out of superlatives when discussing the nominations for the Air Ambulance Awards of Excellence. My fellow judges and I had the privilege of reading about some truly extraordinary people for whom excellence comes as standard. Reading about some of the incidents that air ambulance services have been involved in over the past year has been astonishing and humbling. It is always hard to whittle down the entries but after some considerable agonising, we now have our shortlists. Best of luck to all those shortlisted and congratulations to all who entered.”

, , , , ,

Copyright © 2022 HeliHub

Website by Design Inc

Helihub logo