Bell V-280 Valor short-listed for Collier Trophy

Bell V-280 Valor short-listed for Collier Trophy

2-Mar-2021 Source: Bell

The National Aeronautic Association announced that seven aviation and space achievements will compete for the 2020 Collier Trophy.

Commissioned in 1910 by aviator, humanitarian, and sportsman, Robert J. Collier, with the intent to encourage the American aviation community to strive for excellence in aeronautic development, the Collier Trophy has served as the benchmark of aerospace achievement for over a century. Awarded annually “… for the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America,” it has been bestowed upon some of the most important projects, programs, individuals, and accomplishments in history.

Past winners include Orville Wright, Howard Hughes, Glenn Curtiss, William Lear, Clarence “Kelly” Johnson, the crews of Apollo 11 and Apollo 8, and the Mercury 7. Projects and programs which have been the recipient of the Collier include the B-52, the Voyager Aircraft Team, the Gulfstream V, the F-22, and the International Space Station. The five most recent recipients of the Collier Trophy are the United States Department of the Air Force – Boeing X-37B, the Automatic Ground Collision Avoidance System Team, the Cirrus Aircraft Vision Jet, the Blue Origin New Shepard Team, and the NASA/JPL Dawn Mission Team.

The finalists competing for the 2020 Collier Trophy are:

  • Bell V-280 Valor
  • Boeing Confident Travel Initiative
  • Garmin Autoland
  • Reliable Robotics Remotely Operated Aircraft System (ROAS)
  • SpaceX Falcon 9 & Dragon 2
  • U.S. Department of the Air Force Green Propellant Infusion Mission Team
  • Yates Electrospace Corporation’s Silent Arrow

“For more than a century, the Collier Trophy has defined excellence in American aeronautics and astronautics,” said NAA President Greg Principato. “This year’s finalists represent a broad spectrum of achievement in our industry. The Selection Committee has their work cut out for them!”

The Collier Trophy Selection Committee will meet virtually in June and the winner will be announced publicly following the selection.

The formal presentation of the Collier Trophy will take place when health and safety protocols allow

, , , ,

Copyright © 2022 HeliHub

Website by Design Inc

Helihub logo