Whirly-Girls International Reveal 2023 Scholarship Recipients

Whirly-Girls International Reveal 2023 Scholarship Recipients

17-Jan-2023 Source: Whirly-Girls

Whirly-Girls Scholarship Fund Inc., a non-profit, educational, and charitable organization dedicated to advancing women in the helicopter aviation industry, has announced the recipients of the 2023 Whirly-Girls Scholarship Awards.  The scholarships will be awarded March 5 at the Whirly-Girls Annual Awards Banquet during HAI HELI-EXPO in Atlanta, Georgia.  Thanks to the support of aviation leaders, 32 scholarships were bestowed upon deserving female aviators, the largest scholarship program in the helicopter industry.

Recipients of the 2023 Whirly-Girlsscholarships are:

Advanced Mountain Flight Training

Grace Wagner – Grand Canyon, Arizona

Airbus Inadvertent IIMC Training

 Maria Loken-Kim Kona, Hawaii

Bristow Group Initial Helicopter Flight Training

Katherine Cowley Squamish, BC, Canada

Erickson & Volo Mission Vertical Reference/External Load Training

Jessica Meiris Colorado Springs, Colorado

Flight Safety International Bell 206/Bell 407 Flight Training

Munanie Mbatha Ormond Beach, Florida

Garmin GTN & Flight Display Pilot Training Course

Allison Abellaneda– Lakeville, Minnesota

Bridget Colby Camden, NSW, Australia

Amory Harris Truckee, California

Garmin Aviation Online Training Course

Michelle Lambert – Bend, Oregon

Elizabeth Leidenheimer Jackson, New Jersey

Leading Edge Flight Academy & Central Oregon Community College Helicopter Instrument Rating

Kellye Evans Phoenix, Arizona

Leonardo Helicopters AW139 Flight Training Course

Adele Dobler – Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Elizabeth Vavashe Bulawayo, Zimbabwe

Leonardo Helicopters AW139 Flight Training Course

Jenetta Rutherford Calgary, Alberta, Canada

MD Helicopters MD500 Flight Training

Michelle Benke Maricopa, Arizona

Oregon Aero CRM/AMRM Instructor Training

Allison Abellaneda – Lakeville, Minnesota

Adele DoblerAmory Harris – Truckee, California

Heidi McBride – Siloam Springs, Arkansas

Leah Murphy Salisbury, Maryland

Palm Beach Helicopters CFI/CFII Rating

Amy Ehn Kona, Hawaii

PHI Aviation Bell 407 Scholarship

Michelle AstergardKungsbacka, Sweden

Sage O’Loughlin Yamhill, Oregon

Robinson Helicopters R22/R44 Safety Course

Maria Romero Abella Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

Robinson Helicopters R66 Safety Course

Leah Murphy – Salisbury, Maryland

Southern Utah University (SUU) Career Flight Training

Isabella Blair Grenada, Mississippi

Survival Systems USA Aviation Survival & Egress Training

Diana Arias League City, Texas

Samantha Hansen Hilo, Hawaii

Edward M Thurn Memorial Flight Training

  Haley Follman Creede, Colorado

Lora Trout Memorial Flight Training

Leah Seitz Larkspur, California

Whirly-Girls Jean Tinsley Memorial Heli-Expo

Vanessa Mendoza Boise, Idaho

Whirly-Girls Initial/Add-on Flight Training

Genie Mulari Corona, California

“The 2023 Scholarship offering has been recordbreaking, and we are immensely grateful to our Sponsors for their generosity and support. The cost of flight training can be prohibitive for any pilot, and with the continued help and involvement of our sponsors, we are able to provide crucial training opportunities and mentorship to a new generation of female helicopter pilots” said Joanna Forrester, Whirly-Girls International Scholarship Director.

“Only 6% of helicopter pilots are women, and by raising awareness in the community and providing a strong scholarship program, one of our goals is to help widen the talent pool and bring a broader range of experience, skills and background to the aviation industry.

, , ,

Copyright © 2023 HeliHub

Website by Design Inc

Helihub logo